What is the NPHC "Divine Nine"?

The National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) is a collaborative organization made up of nine historically Black Greek-lettered fraternities and sororities. These organizations are collectively known as the "Divine Nine."

The member organizations of the NPHC are as follows:

  • Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. (founded in 1906)
  • Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. (founded in 1908)
  • Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. (founded in 1911)
  • Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. (founded in 1911)
  • Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. (founded in 1913)
  • Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. (founded in 1914)
  • Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. (founded in 1920)
  • Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. (founded in 1922)
  • Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. (founded in 1963)

These organizations were founded during a time when African Americans faced significant discrimination and segregation in society. The NPHC member organizations were established as a way for African American college students to support one another and to promote academic excellence, leadership, and service.

Today, the NPHC member organizations continue to be active on college and university campuses across the United States and internationally, providing mentorship and support to African American students and promoting community service and social justice initiatives. Membership in these organizations is highly valued and often requires a rigorous application process and commitment to the organization's values and principles.