What is the NPHC "Divine Nine"?

The National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) is a collaborative organization made up of nine historically Black Greek-lettered fraternities and sororities. These organizations are collectively known as the "Divine Nine."

The member organizations of the NPHC are as follows:

  • Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. (founded in 1906)
  • Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. (founded in 1908)
  • Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. (founded in 1911)
  • Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. (founded in 1911)
  • Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. (founded in 1913)
  • Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. (founded in 1914)
  • Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. (founded in 1920)
  • Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. (founded in 1922)
  • Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. (founded in 1963)

These organizations were founded during a time when African Americans faced significant discrimination and segregation in society. The NPHC member organizations were established as a way for African American college students to support one another and to promote academic excellence, leadership, and service.

Back to blog